Star Trek Beyond:Review

 

I just came from seeing the latest  Star Trek installment Beyond. It should have been titled how Rock and roll saved the universe. I won’t say anymore just in case you haven’t seen it yet. It was fast paced fun and well worth the $6.50 that I paid for the vanilla version, without real D, 3D or IMAX 3D which is an absolute fraud anyway. IMAX should not be displayed on any screen, other than an actual IMAX screen or your getting cheated. Personally I think passing off 1960s technology as something new is a swindle.

On the regular screen Star Trek looked fantastic and you don’t have to wear those silly glasses that they probably reuse without sterilizing them.  I was held in my seat like I was glued to it. What’s not to like about this movie it has Zoe Saldana, Jon Cho, Simon Pegg Karl Urban Channeling DeForest Kelly, Idris Elba and Anton Yelchin, and some guy named Chris Pine. I almost forgot that Zachary Quinto  was not Leonard Nimoy. I do have to question James T. Kirk’s rapid rise to the rank of Captain of his own vessel  especially in light of his shaky beginnings. He was even offered a promotion to Vice Admiral. I also had some confusion concerning the uniforms and ranking system the collar tabs made no sense to me a person who instantly recognizes naval rank which is the system that Star fleet is using. Your don’t have to be an actual captain, to captain a ship, the title is an honorific in the naval tradition and also a rank. Was Spock wearing a one hundred year old uniform if so it was very well preserved. Will Scotty’s bomber jacket make another appearance in the next Star Trek Movie, no one knows, My guess is yes and where can I get one.  It also appears that the Members Only style of leather jacket  will be worn far into the future; makes me wish I hadn’t given mine to the good will It’s a classic.

If you want to have fun in air conditioned comfort on a hot summer Friday or Saturday this is a great way to do it. You don’t have to be young or physically fit to enjoy a good movie that’s why I am such a big movie nut. As movies go Star Trek was the perfect popcorn movie or Nachos movie or chicken tenders movie  or any other junk food that you want to stuff down your food hole. It was definitely worth the money and the time invested.

Leave a Reply

