The Sony, Google TV internet player

My Beef of the week is the Sony make-believe google TV internet player, that’s a mouthful. I know that I have a technology deficit in my brain, but I did manage to get the thing up and running. The problem is that you have to have a Google account to do anything with it and that for me is a BIG PROBLEM. I recently dropped my Google account because I was dissatisfied with the way it kept dropping mail and being very intrusive about my personal history. I don’t hate them as much as I hate steam, but they aren’t the sharpest tack in the box.  Recently,( Wednesday as a matter of fact) I purchased the Sony make-believe internet player; and that’s just exactly what it is because if you squint real hard, you can pretend that it does all of the things that it claims to do.

It handles like a blimp in a thunderstorm and then it crashes liKe the Hindenburg, “OH THE HUMANITY!” So far I have paired all three of my apple devices but according to the onscreen prompts, devices are paired but not connected. What does that even mean? they are turned on they are receiving the internet so how are they not connected. While still trying to figure that one out I moved on to the next phase trying my Amazon account. It doesn’t recognize my old email or my password so I can’t edit my account I can’t do anything. So I put that one on hold and moved on to phase three playing videos, I am a fan of J-Urban girl group Foxxi misQ, I know they have been defunct for three years now but I miss them.  So I put them on my all regions DVD player which usually works fine when only connected to the TV, but connected to the Sony device they freeze they skip and they crash. Just to make sure that the flaw wasn’t with the disc I played them on my Mac and they worked just fine. so obvious the problem is with the make-believe player. Who came up with that loser name anyway they probably jinxed it.

With You Tube my luck was a little better but I couldn’t navigate as fast as with my i Pad or i Pod touch. It seemed very insistent that I open up an Amazon account. It won’t let me just rent a movie with out an account.  I haven’t tried NETFLIX yet but I am wondering what hazard that holds for me. I did try Pandora however and again it tried to force me to get an account. I have been listening to Pandora ever since Last fm decided to charge Americans for mobile devices; after I scobbled hundreds of dollars of my personal collection of music for others to listen to. I am not one of those persons who gets free music and doesn’t ever buy what I listen to. I buy  the music that I like and that amounts to a lot. But back to my main point I couldn’t do anything on pandora it just kept crashing and restarting.

Now comes my biggest beef I have been watching HBO GO on my I pad since I first discovered that I could get Deadwood from start to finish for free. I am already a subscriber to HBO and Starz so why should I have to pay $1.99 for episodes that I have already seen or that are more than a year old. The answer is, I shouldn’t. To my surprise and angry astonishment I Went to HBO GO and found that I have to pay to watch programs that I have already paid for through my subscription to HBO. If this is the business model of google TV they can shove it. I can truly say that this was a waste of time and money, and although I do not plan to return it I am thoroughly disappointed I thought Sony was better than that I do own a Sony. TV my first one lasted 20 years with only one repair.

I should have known better, google chrome on my mac was a nightmare I finally got rid of it and received a refund after many hours of fruitless fixes by customer service.  Still Sony takes some of the blame it is definitely not like browsing on your computer. It’s clunky, glitchy and odd. It detected my mouse but not my keyboard. What’s up with that? My mouse wasn’t even connected. As Siskel and Ebert would say I give this internet player two thumbs down.

Leave a Reply

