Why I’ll have to reread the Hobbit

It’s been a very, very long time since I have read JRR Tolkien’s the Hobbit in Junior High: however I still remember the premise of the story. Unlike Peter Jacksons original Lord of the rings trilogy his latest venture (The Hobbit an Unexpected Journey) baffled me. I kept saying to my self I don’t remember that happening. I realize that directors are allowed to take certain liberties with the interpretation of a novel into a movie adaptation, but not at the expense of the story. Although Jackson did not butcher the story as badly as Robert Longo’s screen version of Johnny Mnemonic, I was still disappointed. 

Leaving off less than mid way through the story did not help. Why would he turn a single book into a trilogy when he so skillfully condensed each of the three books of the lord of the rings into only three movies. If he had used the same principles of padding those movies as he did the Hobbit he could have easily stretched each story into three parts. Just think of it, a nine movie epic franchise.

The fact that Jackson is stretching the movie like Mr. Fantastic is not my only beef, he turned it into an actual cliffhanger in every sense of the word. There are numerous scenes where the dwarves and Bilbo are literally hanging by their finger tips over various dangerously deep Chasms. The inexplicable mood changes of Thorin Oakenshield toward Bilbo was annoying and redundant. If he had been resistant to the addition of Bilbo from the beginning it would have made more sense to me.

The Albino orc was another puzzlement to me I do not remember that particular character in the original novel. I could be wrong, but I’ll have to reread this wonderful book again to refresh my knowledge, I am looking forward to it. 

All in all this was not totally a bad experience; it was an afternoon diversion and a chance to stuff myself with chicken tenders, big pretzels and soda, all of the forbidden stuff. This movie might be better suited for preteens than adults especially those of us who have read  Tolkien no matter how long ago it was.

Leave a Reply

